Pokhara University (PoU)



Pokhara University (PU or PoU Nepali: पोखरा विश्वविद्यालय) was established in 1996 as Nepal’s fifth university. Its central office is in Pokhara Lekhnath municipality, Kaski district, Western Development Region. Along with Purbanchal University, PU was formed as part of the government’s policy for improved access to higher education. The prime minister is the university chancellor and the minister for education is the pro-chancellor. The vice-chancellor is the principal administrator of the university.

Established Date – 1996
Address – Khudi-Dhungepatan, Pokhara Lekhnath Municipality of Kaski district
Chancellor – Prime Minister of Nepal

Major Subjects

  • Faculty of Management Study
  • Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Health Science
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Science

Why is it established?

Pokhara University (PU), aiming at making higher education accessible to the underprivileged section of society, provides scholarships to 10 percent of the approved quota of students in affiliated Colleges and 20 percent in constituent schools. The graduates from government and non-government schools or colleges are eligible to apply for scholarships and financial support. The PU Scholarship Selection Examination decides to award scholarships based on applicants’ credentials, economic background, examination followed by an interview.

back to top button
error: Please be respectful of copyright. Unauthorized use is prohibited.