Tribhuvan University (TU)



Tribhuvan University (TU, Nepali: त्रिभुवन विश्वविद्यालय) is a public university in Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal. Established in 1959, TU is the oldest university in Nepal. In terms of enrollment, it is the ninth largest university in the world. The university offers 2,079 undergraduate And 2,000 postgraduate programs across a wide range of disciplines. As of March 2017, The University has 60 constituent campuses and 1,084 affiliated colleges across the country. Since it is government financed, it is less expensive than private universities.

Established Date: 1959 (2016 B.S.)

Address: Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Chancellor: Prime Minister of Nepal


Major Subjects studied at Tribhuvan University:

  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Management


Why Tribhuvan University is established?

The university was established with the following objectives:

  • To prepare capable human resources required for the overall development of Nepal.
  • To impart standard higher education.
  • To protect and develop national culture and tradition.
  • To involve in the extensive, empirical and timely creation of knowledge and research in the fields of arts, science, technology, and vocation.

TU Senate

It is the supreme decision-making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations for running the university. It consists of 52 members.


back to top button
error: Please be respectful of copyright. Unauthorized use is prohibited.